Skip to main content

The Sacramento Press Club is a non-profit educational organization dedicated to supporting the next generation of journalists through college scholarships. In addition, the Sacramento Press Club is committed to informing and educating its members and the public through monthly luncheons featuring news makers from throughout the nation.

June 9, 2020: What's Next For AB5?

June 9, 2020: What's Next For AB5?

The Sacramento Press Club will host a virtual forum at noon this Tuesday, June 9, focused on the future of Assembly Bill 5, the law that aims to require companies to reclassify hundreds of thousands of workers as employees, rather than independent contractors. You can watch the forum on Facebook Live at the Sacramento Press Club’s Facebook page.

AB 5 will be the focus of one of major ballot measure fights this coming November, as Uber, Lyft, DoorDash and Postmates have given $110 million to an initiative that would exempt their industry from the law. Debate at the Capitol is ongoing as lawmakers consider whether to pass follow-up legislation exemption additional professions, including freelance journalists.

Participants will include:

Assemblywoman Lorena Gonzalez, D-San Diego, who carried AB 5, among the most consequential pieces of legislation approved in years. 

Assemblyman Vince Fong, R-Bakersfield, one of the measure’s opponents.

John Kabateck, California state director of the National Federation of Independent Business, which advocates on behalf of small and independent business owners.

Steve Smith, communications director for the California Labor Federation-AFL-CIO, the leading backer of AB 5.

You supply the lunch. We’ll supply the discussion.

The Sacramento Press Club’s mission is to provide scholarships to needy journalism students. Your contribution would be greatly appreciated. You can contribute by clicking here.

Check out our recent Facebook Live events:

May 19: "Man of Tomorrow: The Relentless Life of Jerry Brown" with author Jim Newton

May 7: Covering the 2020 Campaign, COVID-19 Style

Thank you to our sponsor, Bicker, Castillo & Fairbanks Public Affairs!

April 30: How California Restaurants and Farms Will Survive COVID-19

Thank you to our sponsor, Western United Dairies!

Western United Dairymen

Upcoming Events

Past Events



We are grateful to the Sacramento Press Club 50 (SPC50) donors  below who help us provide $34,000 in scholarships annually. Interested in becoming an SPC50 donor? Please click on Donate for more information.
Sponsor Number URL address
Sponsor 1
Sponsor 2
Sponsor 3
Sponsor 4
Sponsor 5
Sponsor 6
Sponsor 7
Sponsor 8
Sponsor 9
Sponsor 10
Sponsor 11